Annual T20 Cricket Match - The Caulfield Grammarians' Association

Share This Post

CGS / Sport

Annual T20 Cricket Match

T20 cricket match

The CGA went into the annual T20 cricket match against the School in good form, its senior side having just played finals in Division 1 of the MCC Club XI competition. Our confidence was also boosted by the fact that we had defeated the School first eleven for the past years to claim the Gerry Gerrand trophy.

The School first eleven were having an excellent season in the APS competition, however, so we knew this year’s match was going to be much tougher than previous years. On a beautiful Friday afternoon on the Mills Oval, the CGA batted first and were looking good at 1/51 off six overs, only to stumble badly through the middle stages of the innings to be dismissed for 114. John Borneman (29), Prathmesh Yadav (27) and Nathan Guyett (23) were the top scorers.

In reply, the School had little trouble chasing the required runs, doing so in the 14th over with just two wickets down. Some good bowling by Cameron Dickson and fielding by Nathan Guyett were the only shining lights in what was a comprehensive and well-deserved victory by the School team.

Thank you to Keith de Kretser and umpire Adrian Fisher for their continued support of this annual T20 cricket match, along with Ian Wilkinson, Rachel Muir and Linda Sprott from the CGA.

Grant Poulter

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>